What does Lucy Mangan think of the tarpaulin revolution, wig warmers and bulletproof coffee?

Tarpaulinrevolution

Posted by Collins Language @ Thursday 18 December 2014

'Bio-drone'...'lumbersexual'...'panivorous'...and let's not forget 'poo bus' - Lucy Mangan can't as she looks at your new word submissions

Shutterstock 79633102

Posted by Collins Language @ Friday 05 December 2014

12 Ways the Universe Loves Scrabble™

The Universe Loves Scrabble

Posted by Collins Language @ Thursday 04 December 2014

Black Friday, Movember, and Philae: trending words in November

By Robert Groves, Editor, Collins Dictionary

Movember

Posted by Collins Language @ Tuesday 02 December 2014

14 Mad Facts About Medieval England

Medieval Facts

Posted by Collins Language @ Thursday 27 November 2014

Lucy Mangan is back on your word submissions this week, taking on 'meetnapping' and 'brunneous' among others

Cosplay Onesie1

Posted by Collins Language @ Thursday 27 November 2014

Get Collins Dictionaries on your Android device now!

Posted by Collins Language @ Wednesday 05 November 2014

The year that was...Lucy Mangan looks at the Collins Word of the Year shortlist

Posted by Collins Language @ Wednesday 05 November 2014

The Collins English Dictionary iOS app - every word at your fingertips

Posted by Collins Language @ Thursday 23 October 2014

How do I use a Collins Kindle Dictionary?

Posted by Collins Language @ Wednesday 22 October 2014

Win a Collins English Dictionary and Graze box

Posted by Collins Language @ Wednesday 22 October 2014

Collins English Dictionary, 12th edition - FAQs

Posted by Collins Language @ Wednesday 22 October 2014

The Collins English Dictionary, 12th edition

Posted by Collins Language @ Wednesday 15 October 2014

Top Tips to win at BANANAGRAMS!

Posted by Collins Language @ Wednesday 15 October 2014

The Joy of Dictionaries - Collins English Dictionary launch event

Posted by Collins Language @ Friday 10 October 2014

Hands up! Do You Remember Your School Playground Slang?

Posted by Collins Language @ Tuesday 07 October 2014

All the insider secrets to help you become Top Banana!

Posted by Collins Language @ Tuesday 07 October 2014

14 untranslatable emotions that English can’t convey

Posted by Collins Language @ Friday 03 October 2014

Devo Manc, investigoogle and factronise: Lucy Mangan takes on your new word submissions

Posted by Collins Language @ Thursday 02 October 2014

Learn Game of Thrones’ weird words and curious constructed languages

Posted by Collins Language @ Monday 29 September 2014

iScotland v the rUK: trending words in September

Posted by Collins Language @ Wednesday 24 September 2014

Are you having a nice fakeation? Lucy Mangan takes on your new word submissions

Posted by Collins Language @ Thursday 18 September 2014

Golfing Slang! Tee off for the Ryder Cup with our Top Golfing Terms

Posted by Collins Language @ Thursday 18 September 2014

How ‘Adorkable’ Pipped ‘Felfie’ and ‘Fatberg’ To The Post

Posted by Collins Language @ Tuesday 16 September 2014

Weather Words - The Great British Fascination with Forecasting

Posted by Collins Language @ Wednesday 10 September 2014

The Highland Games: Why Do We Toss the Caber and Where Do Bagpipes Really Come From?

Posted by Collins Language @ Friday 05 September 2014

From offendicles to plorker: Lucy Mangan takes on your new word submissions

Posted by Collins Language @ Wednesday 03 September 2014

Ice Bucket Challenge and Supermoon - Trending words in August

Posted by Collins Language @ Friday 29 August 2014

11 British Summer Fête Essentials: Three-Legged Races, Tombolas and Cream Tea

Posted by Collins Language @ Thursday 28 August 2014

Mograbia, scanxiety and Katy Cat: Lucy Mangan takes on your new word submissions

Posted by Collins Language @ Wednesday 20 August 2014

Word-lover interview: Susan Purcell of The Virtual Linguist

Posted by Collins Language @ Tuesday 19 August 2014

Selfies: Have we reached peak Selfie and is the word here to stay?

Posted by Collins Language @ Thursday 14 August 2014

Word-lover interview: Nic Subtirelu of Linguistic Pulse

Posted by Collins Language @ Monday 11 August 2014

The Monogram Murders: How to Speak Like Hercule Poirot

Posted by Collins Language @ Friday 08 August 2014

Do you have any known unknowns when it comes to words? Lucy Mangan takes on your new word submissions

Posted by Collins Language @ Thursday 07 August 2014

Word-lover interview: Andrew Taylor, crime and historical novelist

Posted by Collins Language @ Tuesday 05 August 2014

Bedroom tax, reshuffle, and digital make-up - Trending Words in July 2014

Posted by Collins Language @ Thursday 31 July 2014

Word-lover interview: Yousuf AlBader

Posted by Collins Language @ Wednesday 30 July 2014

Do you know what chronotype or cynosure mean? Lucy Mangan is here to explain all!

Posted by Collins Language @ Thursday 24 July 2014

Crosswords - 7 Facts You Didn’t Have a Cryptic Clue About

Posted by Collins Language @ Thursday 24 July 2014

Cryptic Crossword Success: 5 Ways to Crack Those Crafty Clues

Posted by Collins Language @ Tuesday 22 July 2014

Scrabble Addict? 16 Ways to Mix up your Word Game Addiction!

Posted by Collins Language @ Thursday 17 July 2014

21 Cycling Words to Set You Up For the Tour de France

Posted by Collins Language @ Friday 11 July 2014

Gramping and ramscootering: Lucy Mangan takes on more of your submissions to Collinsdictionary.com

Posted by Collins Language @ Tuesday 08 July 2014

Words You Need to Follow Tennis Like a Pro

Posted by Collins Language @ Wednesday 02 July 2014

Slender Man, Spornosexuals, and Smartphones – Trending Words in June 2014

Posted by Collins Language @ Wednesday 02 July 2014

Word-lover interview: Bruce Holsinger, author and scholar

Posted by Collins Language @ Monday 30 June 2014

Glasgow Patter - 12 Scottish Slang Words To Test You

Posted by Collins Language @ Thursday 26 June 2014

Pluviophile, rore and celefie: Lucy Mangan takes on your latest word submissions to CollinsDictionary.com

Posted by Collins Language @ Wednesday 25 June 2014

Word-lover interview: Tim Gorichanaz of ScratchTap

Posted by Collins Language @ Thursday 19 June 2014

6 ways to get an English accent that’s posher than the Queen’s

Posted by Collins Language @ Monday 16 June 2014

World Cup Words You Need to be Brilliantly Brazilian

Posted by Collins Language @ Thursday 12 June 2014

Yesser, branter, and chloephobia: Lucy Mangan takes on your new word submissions to CollinsDictionary.com

Posted by Collins Language @ Wednesday 11 June 2014

#Twictionary Winner Revealed! Which Word Has Twitter Voted into Collins Dictionary?

And the #Twictionary winner is…

Posted by Collins Language @ Tuesday 10 June 2014

Aussie Slang vs Kiwi Slang - New Zild or Strine?

Posted by Collins Language @ Monday 09 June 2014

Word-lover interview: Lynne Murphy of Separated By A Common Language

Posted by Collins Language @ Wednesday 04 June 2014

Balderdash! 11 English Words Whose Meanings Have Changed

Posted by Collins Language @ Monday 02 June 2014

“Meta” fiction, zonkeys, and Conchita Wurst – Trending Words in May 2014

Posted by Collins Language @ Thursday 29 May 2014

The 25 most-used words in English: Can you use them to learn a new language?

Posted by Collins Language @ Tuesday 27 May 2014

Lucy Mangan has a wrunkle about wanle and other new CollinsDictionary.com word submissions

Posted by Collins Language @ Tuesday 27 May 2014

Twictionary & how the Collins Dictionary evolves every day

Posted by Collins Language @ Wednesday 21 May 2014

#Twictionary: Vote for your favourite word to go into the new Collins English Dictionary

Posted by Collins Language @ Monday 19 May 2014

Thanks to your word submissions, Lucy Mangan is now an expert is the ancient art of 'washigami'

Posted by Collins Language @ Tuesday 13 May 2014

Speak English Better Than 90% of Native Speakers by Mastering This Difficult Poem

Posted by Collins Language @ Tuesday 13 May 2014

10 American English Words To Baffle The Brits

Posted by Collins Language @ Thursday 08 May 2014

Eight killer business words and phrases

by Barry Tomalin

Posted by Collins Language @ Thursday 08 May 2014

Fifteen High Scoring Scrabble Words That Include The Letter X

Posted by Collins Language @ Wednesday 07 May 2014

Do You Speak Hinglish? 15 Indian Words English Speakers Use Every Day

Posted by Collins Language @ Wednesday 30 April 2014

Lucy Mangan is LIMH at this week's new CollinsDictionary.com word submissions!

Posted by Collins Language @ Tuesday 29 April 2014

Instagram, Sahara Dust, and the Cambridge Factor – Trending Words April 2014

Posted by Collins Language @ Monday 28 April 2014

Lucy Mangan is going on a 'microadventure'. No 'wackaging' involved.

Posted by Collins Language @ Wednesday 16 April 2014

Some of the best words that never were

Posted by Collins Language @ Thursday 03 April 2014

Super-G, Beer and Bingo – Trending Words in March 2014

Posted by Collins Language @ Wednesday 02 April 2014

Lucy Mangan learns some new words from the Greek Orthodox Church, as well as a new type of pasta.

Posted by Collins Language @ Wednesday 02 April 2014

Lucy Mangan considers 'komorebi', 'sitzfleisch', and the proper pronunciation of 'dog'...

Posted by Collins Language @ Tuesday 18 March 2014

Life as a polyglot

Love talking to people and learning about new cultures? We ask a polyglot to give us her experiences of living with multiple languages.

Posted by Collins Language @ Monday 10 March 2014

Lucy Mangan takes on the new CollinsDictionary.com word submissions

Having avoided the 'timebox' for years, Lucy Mangan is keen to 'meandulate'...

Posted by Collins Language @ Monday 03 March 2014

International Mother Language Day: What does it mean to have a mother language?

Posted by Collins Language @ Friday 21 February 2014

We're off for a bit of wreckreation, followed by a bunny chow. Welcome to Lucy Mangan's latest CollinsDictionary.com article!

Posted by Collins Language @ Tuesday 18 February 2014

Happy Valentines Day! Here are some international terms of endearment for your beloved

Posted by Collins Language @ Friday 14 February 2014

Watch out, Lucy Mangan's about! Read her take on the first batch of submitted words of the New Year!

Posted by Collins Language @ Tuesday 04 February 2014

Lucy Mangan has put together her New Year resolutions!

We'll test her on how many she has kept at the end of the year...

Posted by Collins Language @ Friday 17 January 2014

CollinsDictionary.com 'Word of the Year' - the changing face of words

Posted by Collins Language @ Monday 16 December 2013

Collins Word of the Year 2013 is...

Posted by Lucy Mangan @ Thursday 12 December 2013

Sleepers - how a word can suddenly find fame!

Posted by Collins Language @ Tuesday 03 December 2013

To stem the tide of 'parentnoia', how about a nice 'shelfie'?

Posted by Collins Language @ Wednesday 20 November 2013

Lucy Mangan considers all the latest words submitted to the Collins Dictionary

Posted by Collins Language @ Thursday 07 November 2013

Lucy Mangan has a bag full of new words - see which ones she has pulled out!

Posted by Collins Language @ Tuesday 22 October 2013

Lucy Mangan discusses fame, scooters, and all things giraffey in her new blog

Posted by Collins Language @ Tuesday 08 October 2013

Have you read Lucy Mangan's new CollinsDictionary.com blog yet? We suggest that you frinkley do!

Posted by Collins Language @ Friday 27 September 2013

Neanderthal inspired internet usage, the trials and tribulations of making phone calls in Norfolk, and trsgic misspellings - all brought to you by Lucy Mangan

Posted by Collins Language @ Tuesday 10 September 2013

Lucy Mangan has been confronting her fears in this week's blog - just don't ask her for a meeting about it!

Posted by Collins Language @ Tuesday 27 August 2013

Lucy Mangan takes on London's sewer system and confronts her frustration with hobbits

Posted by Collins Language @ Thursday 15 August 2013

Lucy Mangan ponders the worlds of comics, aggresive leapfrogging and erotic-fiction induced pregnancies

Posted by Lucy Mangan @ Thursday 18 July 2013

More new words to willantly commonise, brought to you by Lucy Mangan.

Posted by Collins Language @ Monday 01 July 2013

Are you 'mabobing'? Read Lucy Mangan's new article to find out.

Posted by Collins Language @ Friday 28 June 2013

Lucy Mangan takes on panda worship, imaginary children, and the apocalypse - all of which should be expected when looking at the latest new word submissions.

Posted by Collins Language @ Friday 24 May 2013

Lucy Mangan is back!

After a short break from our blog, Lucy takes on the latest words to be submitted to CollinsDictionary.com, including various synonyms for 'skin tag', a way of describing a double-denim outfit, and (finally!) a word for those pesky autocorrect-induced errors.

Posted by Collins Language @ Tuesday 07 May 2013

Divided by a Common Language

Posted by Collins Language @ Tuesday 02 April 2013

Lucy Mangan loves your words

...but which one will win her heart, 'Valencrime', 'scooly', or 'sillage'? It won't be 'antidisestablishmentarianism', that's for sure!

Posted by Lucy Mangan @ Friday 08 March 2013