Author vs. Author

Shutterstock 67099876

Posted by Collins Language @ Saturday 23 May 2015

Delightfully Odd-Looking Scrabble Words

Fullsizerender 1

Posted by Collins Language @ Saturday 23 May 2015

Get More Involved with Scrabble

Are You Ready

Posted by Collins Language @ Saturday 23 May 2015

Tips from the Champions - Craig Beevers

Craig Beevers 012

Posted by Collins Language @ Friday 22 May 2015

Discover the New Scrabble Words

New Words Blog Header

Posted by Collins Language @ Thursday 21 May 2015

Scrabble FAQs

Shutterstock 277248041

Posted by Collins Language @ Wednesday 20 May 2015

The Lost World of Floriography

Vintageflower2

Posted by Collins Language @ Thursday 14 May 2015

Scrabble Week

Blog Scrabble Week

Posted by Collins Language @ Tuesday 12 May 2015

Any 'quamments'? Lucy Mangan questions and comments on your new word submissions

Shutterstock 88357612

Posted by Collins Language @ Friday 08 May 2015

Etymology Corner - Election 'Candidates'

toga

Posted by Collins Language @ Friday 01 May 2015

'Kitchen-sinking', 'Milifan', and 'Death Star': April's Words in the News

Shutterstock 246556057

Posted by Collins Language @ Friday 01 May 2015

'Ecofiscal', 'Scotiaphobia' and 'Disguss' - Lucy Mangan casts her vote for your election words

Shutterstock 114656170

Posted by Collins Language @ Thursday 23 April 2015

Will in the Words

Chris Moore Shakespeare 2

Posted by Collins Language @ Thursday 23 April 2015

A Scrabble Game of Thrones

Scrabble Image

Posted by Collins Language @ Monday 13 April 2015

Lucy Mangan's springtime submissions: 'babywearing', 'hormy' and 'studdle'

Baby Carrier

Posted by Collins Language @ Friday 10 April 2015

'Eclipse glasses', 'net neutrality', and 'tankie': March's Words in the News

Shutterstock 251411722

Posted by Collins Language @ Friday 03 April 2015

Etymology Corner - Easter Words

Shutterstock 258041060

Posted by Collins Language @ Friday 03 April 2015

'Sadboy', 'angsta', 'pogonophile' and 'aweld' - Lucy Mangan's back with your new word submissions

beard

Posted by Collins Language @ Friday 27 March 2015

Author Carmel Harrington on hilarious Irish words

Kiss Me I'm Irish

Posted by Collins Language @ Thursday 19 March 2015

Author Fionnuala Kearney's favourite Irish words

St Patrick's Day

Posted by Collins Language @ Wednesday 18 March 2015

Everyone’s a little bit Irish: Irish words in the English Language

Shutterstock 176812547

Posted by Collins Language @ Monday 16 March 2015

Author Gavin Corbett picks his favourite Irish word for St Patrick's Day

Shutterstock 89759686

Posted by Collins Language @ Monday 16 March 2015

How is Mother's Day celebrated around the world?

Mom

Posted by Collins Language @ Sunday 15 March 2015

Happy Mother's Day... or Mothering Sunday?

Shutterstock 249489676

Posted by Collins Language @ Saturday 14 March 2015

Lucy Mangan talks gender jargon for International Women's Day

Iwd

Posted by Collins Language @ Saturday 07 March 2015

'Dressgate', 'Propose Day', and 'Bennettesque': February's Words in the News

Thedress

Posted by Collins Language @ Friday 06 March 2015

Avast! Lucy Mangan gets nautical with your recent word submissions.

Shutterstock 66654622

Posted by Collins Language @ Wednesday 25 February 2015

Collins A to Z of cricketing words and phrases

Shutterstock 221241253

Posted by Collins Language @ Monday 16 February 2015

Words of Endearment

Shutterstock 242393833 1

Posted by Collins Language @ Saturday 14 February 2015

'SYRIZA', '#greensurge', 'kippers', and 'je suis Charlie': trending words in January

Shutterstock 15622120

Posted by Collins Language @ Friday 06 February 2015

Living it! Rhiannon Garth Jones reviews Fluent in 3 Months

Tumblr Inline Niy810cdql1s6jpnu

Posted by Collins Language @ Tuesday 03 February 2015

'Tortoise armies', 'mansplaining', and 'tediocre' - it can only be Lucy Mangan and the latest new word submissions

Shutterstock 212743492 265

Posted by Collins Language @ Monday 02 February 2015

Living it! Rhiannon Garth Jones has a go at becoming Fluent in 3 Months

31days

Posted by Collins Language @ Thursday 22 January 2015

Lucy Mangan's New Year Rant

Shutterstock 126178145

Posted by Collins Language @ Thursday 15 January 2015

Get that Job in 7 Simple Steps

Shutterstock 160420286

Posted by Collins Language @ Tuesday 13 January 2015

How to make a New Year's Resolution... and actually keep it

Newyearresbenny

Posted by Collins Language @ Monday 12 January 2015

How to Start Learning a New Language (Right Now. Today. Seriously).

Stopdreamingstartdoing

Posted by Collins Language @ Monday 05 January 2015

My Story, Your Passion - Benny Lewis's inspirational story of how he became a globe-trotting polyglot (part 2)

Posted by Collins Language @ Friday 02 January 2015

17 inspirational quotes to help you reach your goals this year

Inspiration

Posted by Collins Language @ Thursday 01 January 2015

My Story, Your Passion - Benny Lewis's inspirational story of how he became a globe-trotting polyglot (part 1)

Bennyphoto

Posted by Collins Language @ Thursday 01 January 2015

What does Lucy Mangan think of the 'tarpaulin revolution', 'wig warmers' and 'bulletproof coffee'?

Tarpaulinrevolution

Posted by Collins Language @ Thursday 18 December 2014

'Bio-drone'...'lumbersexual'...'panivorous'...and let's not forget 'poo bus' - Lucy Mangan can't as she looks at your new word submissions

Shutterstock 79633102

Posted by Collins Language @ Friday 05 December 2014

12 Ways the Universe Loves Scrabble™

The Universe Loves Scrabble

Posted by Collins Language @ Thursday 04 December 2014

'Black Friday', 'Movember', and 'Philae': trending words in November

By Robert Groves, Editor, Collins Dictionary

Movember

Posted by Collins Language @ Tuesday 02 December 2014

14 Mad Facts About Medieval England

Medieval Facts

Posted by Collins Language @ Thursday 27 November 2014

Lucy Mangan is back on your word submissions this week, taking on 'meetnapping' and 'brunneous' among others

Cosplay Onesie1

Posted by Collins Language @ Thursday 27 November 2014

Get Collins Dictionaries on your Android device now!

Posted by Collins Language @ Wednesday 05 November 2014

The year that was...Lucy Mangan looks at the Collins Word of the Year shortlist

Posted by Collins Language @ Wednesday 05 November 2014

The Collins English Dictionary iOS app - every word at your fingertips

Posted by Collins Language @ Thursday 23 October 2014

How do I use a Collins Kindle Dictionary?

Posted by Collins Language @ Wednesday 22 October 2014

Win a Collins English Dictionary and Graze box

Posted by Collins Language @ Wednesday 22 October 2014

Collins English Dictionary, 12th edition - FAQs

Posted by Collins Language @ Wednesday 22 October 2014

The Collins English Dictionary, 12th edition

Posted by Collins Language @ Wednesday 15 October 2014

Top Tips to win at BANANAGRAMS!

Posted by Collins Language @ Wednesday 15 October 2014

The Joy of Dictionaries - Collins English Dictionary launch event

Posted by Collins Language @ Friday 10 October 2014

Hands up! Do You Remember Your School Playground Slang?

Posted by Collins Language @ Tuesday 07 October 2014

All the insider secrets to help you become Top Banana!

Posted by Collins Language @ Tuesday 07 October 2014

14 untranslatable emotions that English can’t convey

Posted by Collins Language @ Friday 03 October 2014

Devo Manc, investigoogle and factronise: Lucy Mangan takes on your new word submissions

Posted by Collins Language @ Thursday 02 October 2014

Learn Game of Thrones’ weird words and curious constructed languages

Posted by Collins Language @ Monday 29 September 2014

iScotland v the rUK: trending words in September

Posted by Collins Language @ Wednesday 24 September 2014

Are you having a nice fakeation? Lucy Mangan takes on your new word submissions

Posted by Collins Language @ Thursday 18 September 2014

Golfing Slang! Tee off for the Ryder Cup with our Top Golfing Terms

Posted by Collins Language @ Thursday 18 September 2014

How ‘Adorkable’ Pipped ‘Felfie’ and ‘Fatberg’ To The Post

Posted by Collins Language @ Tuesday 16 September 2014

Weather Words - The Great British Fascination with Forecasting

Posted by Collins Language @ Wednesday 10 September 2014

The Highland Games: Why Do We Toss the Caber and Where Do Bagpipes Really Come From?

Posted by Collins Language @ Friday 05 September 2014

From offendicles to plorker: Lucy Mangan takes on your new word submissions

Posted by Collins Language @ Wednesday 03 September 2014

Ice Bucket Challenge and Supermoon - Trending words in August

Posted by Collins Language @ Friday 29 August 2014

11 British Summer Fête Essentials: Three-Legged Races, Tombolas and Cream Tea

Posted by Collins Language @ Thursday 28 August 2014

Mograbia, scanxiety and Katy Cat: Lucy Mangan takes on your new word submissions

Posted by Collins Language @ Wednesday 20 August 2014

Word-lover interview: Susan Purcell of The Virtual Linguist

Posted by Collins Language @ Tuesday 19 August 2014

Selfies: Have we reached peak Selfie and is the word here to stay?

Posted by Collins Language @ Thursday 14 August 2014

Word-lover interview: Nic Subtirelu of Linguistic Pulse

Posted by Collins Language @ Monday 11 August 2014

The Monogram Murders: How to Speak Like Hercule Poirot

Posted by Collins Language @ Friday 08 August 2014

Do you have any known unknowns when it comes to words? Lucy Mangan takes on your new word submissions

Posted by Collins Language @ Thursday 07 August 2014

Word-lover interview: Andrew Taylor, crime and historical novelist

Posted by Collins Language @ Tuesday 05 August 2014

Bedroom tax, reshuffle, and digital make-up - Trending Words in July 2014

Posted by Collins Language @ Thursday 31 July 2014

Word-lover interview: Yousuf AlBader

Posted by Collins Language @ Wednesday 30 July 2014

Do you know what chronotype or cynosure mean? Lucy Mangan is here to explain all!

Posted by Collins Language @ Thursday 24 July 2014

Crosswords - 7 Facts You Didn’t Have a Cryptic Clue About

Posted by Collins Language @ Thursday 24 July 2014

Cryptic Crossword Success: 5 Ways to Crack Those Crafty Clues

Posted by Collins Language @ Tuesday 22 July 2014

Scrabble Addict? 16 Ways to Mix up your Word Game Addiction!

ScrabbleGame

Posted by Collins Language @ Thursday 17 July 2014

21 Cycling Words to Set You Up For the Tour de France

Posted by Collins Language @ Friday 11 July 2014

Gramping and ramscootering: Lucy Mangan takes on more of your submissions to Collinsdictionary.com

Posted by Collins Language @ Tuesday 08 July 2014

Words You Need to Follow Tennis Like a Pro

Posted by Collins Language @ Wednesday 02 July 2014

Slender Man, Spornosexuals, and Smartphones – Trending Words in June 2014

Posted by Collins Language @ Wednesday 02 July 2014

Word-lover interview: Bruce Holsinger, author and scholar

Posted by Collins Language @ Monday 30 June 2014

Glasgow Patter - 12 Scottish Slang Words To Test You

Posted by Collins Language @ Thursday 26 June 2014

Pluviophile, rore and celefie: Lucy Mangan takes on your latest word submissions to CollinsDictionary.com

Posted by Collins Language @ Wednesday 25 June 2014

Word-lover interview: Tim Gorichanaz of ScratchTap

Posted by Collins Language @ Thursday 19 June 2014

6 ways to get an English accent that’s posher than the Queen’s

Posted by Collins Language @ Monday 16 June 2014

World Cup Words You Need to be Brilliantly Brazilian

Posted by Collins Language @ Thursday 12 June 2014

Yesser, branter, and chloephobia: Lucy Mangan takes on your new word submissions to CollinsDictionary.com

Posted by Collins Language @ Wednesday 11 June 2014

#Twictionary Winner Revealed! Which Word Has Twitter Voted into Collins Dictionary?

And the #Twictionary winner is…

Posted by Collins Language @ Tuesday 10 June 2014

Aussie Slang vs Kiwi Slang - New Zild or Strine?

Posted by Collins Language @ Monday 09 June 2014

Word-lover interview: Lynne Murphy of Separated By A Common Language

Posted by Collins Language @ Wednesday 04 June 2014

Balderdash! 11 English Words Whose Meanings Have Changed

Posted by Collins Language @ Monday 02 June 2014

“Meta” fiction, zonkeys, and Conchita Wurst – Trending Words in May 2014

Posted by Collins Language @ Thursday 29 May 2014

The 25 most-used words in English: Can you use them to learn a new language?

Posted by Collins Language @ Tuesday 27 May 2014

Lucy Mangan has a wrunkle about wanle and other new CollinsDictionary.com word submissions

Posted by Collins Language @ Tuesday 27 May 2014